Dive deep into the past and immerse yourself in the rich history of Fluvanna. Explore the county’s roots along the Palmyra Walking Tour featuring original and recreated buildings, learn about bygone agricultural practices at the Farm History Museum, and visit the Old Stone Jail Museum for a first-hand experience of Fluvanna’s past.
Farm Heritage Museum
The Museum, which is filled with antique farm equipment from the collection of John May, as well as pieces from other Fluvanna collectors, provides an evolution of farming from 1865 through 1965.
Old Stone Jail Museum
Built in 1828, the jail was designed by John Hartwell Cocke and built by John G. Hughes and Richard McCary. After 1950 when the old jail was no longer used as a lock-up, a group of Fluvannians started a project to convert the jail into a museum. In 1957 Virginia Jones Snead and other dedicated workers opened the first displays to the public.
Palmyra Walking Tour
If you’re looking for a lesson in Virginia history with a side of small town community, look no further than Palmyra’s Walking History Tour. Recently updated to ensure accuracy and authenticity by the Palmyra Area Revitalization Committee, this insightful tour is a love letter to Fluvanna’s roots.